FB_IMG_1542209648903.jpg

Kayla DeSanty

25 Years Old //Reading, massachusetts

Instagram: @kayyymd

Strava Link

IMG_8248.jpg

About Kayla

From a young age, I knew that I wanted to be a triathlete. I grew up watching my dad compete in triathlons, and I loved cheering him on and crossing the finish line with him. I guess I got off to a good start by joining a swim team when I was seven years old. I loved the water and all the land sports I tried just weren’t for me. For thirteen years, swimming was my main sport. I tried cross country and track in seventh grade and started competing in local triathlons when I was fifteen, but I was too heavily involved in swimming to be serious about running or triathlon. I swam for a few different club teams, was captain and MVP of my high school swim team, and ultimately swam DIII for two years at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI), where I was studying Biology&Biotechnology and Biochemistry.

Wachu swim.jpg

By the time I was a junior in college, swimming wasn’t fun for me anymore. I was burnt out and ready to move on to something else, so I quit the swim team. I celebrated my newfound freedom by signing up for my first half-marathon and trying out some more local triathlons. I started consistently making age group podiums and placing higher overall, but more importantly, I was enjoying the sport. Instead of worrying about how I was going to do, I was focused on having fun and racing with a smile on my face

Westborough sprint.jpg
Cranberry.jpg

To date, I have completed 18 sprint triathlons, 6 Olympic distance triathlons, and two 70.3s. I started working with Nor’easter Triathlon in January of this year and have made tremendous improvements. I came close to some overall podium finishes, had a solid performance at my first Age Group Nationals, finished IRONMAN 70.3 Lake Placid in freezing cold temperatures, and shattered my previous 5K and 10K run PRs. I’m incredibly excited to join the #fullsendfamily and can’t wait to send it in 2019!

IMG_8336.jpg
KMD_Boston_Tri.jpg

Outside of triathlon, I work in downstream process development for a novel therapeutics company in Cambridge, MA. I also enjoy hiking, skiing, spinning vinyls, and winning bar trivia.

Whiteface Skiing.jpg
IMG_0005.JPG